Aggravated OUI is a felony, making it much more serious than a standard misdemeanor OUI charge in Arizona. Convicted felons will have to fight to regain the right to vote, run for public office, and possess a firearm. The standard penalties for OUI (listed above) are as follows:
· Minimum 4 months prison sentence
· Fines of at least $4,000
· Community service
· Drug and alcohol screening, education, and treatment
· Forfeiture of the watercraft involved in the arrest
Note that a defendant convicted of felony OUI will lose their watercraft, while a defendant convicted of a misdemeanor OUI will not suffer that consequence. There are two ways to be charged with felony OUI in Arizona. The first is by receiving 3 OUI charges in an 84-month period. Here, the defendant will be penalized as listed above. The second way to be charged with felony OUI is by having a passenger under 15 years old onboard at the time of the arrest. While this conviction will still show up on your record as a felony, you will be penalized with the underlying offense as if you didn’t have a child passenger.